Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:05 p.m. - Thursday, May. 26, 2016
Waiting to start
Resuming my diary has been so helpful in pulling me out of my latest low period. I now need to start writing about something other than myself and write it better. There really is so much bad writing out there, but you barely notice until you read something utterly lovely that has flair and teases you with it's unusual but clear construction. You remember what is possible. To show style - the best style is the unforced, the natural unique voice that is so hard to find. The same goes for visual art, I see so much bad art that I wonder what motivates someone to bother. Art that has no emotion or just horrible colour choices. I still haven't started making anything. I am completely at a loss as to how to start. What am I even interested in? That's a start. Maybe my writing will help. I wish I could translate my thoughts as feelings into images. It's all subconscious though and very mysterious. I am so out of practice I can't bear to have to go through the warm up again. This is a lesson to never let my talents go. You have to do a little bit as often a possible. Just like physical exercise. Firstly I have to make art for myself, that makes me feel happy. I don't even know what I want. I think I want some humour to show through definitely. I never want to take myself too seriously, even if I take the work seriously. The key is to not think about it. That is like the hardest thing!

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!