Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2:42 p.m. - 2003-05-29
Religion sucks
The night those missionaries came I went out for a drink with Juda the only Jew iat K*risk*indl and an English couple who are atheists (which is an exception here). I had to get away from all these religious nuts. An Australian greengrocer called Luke, who is staying, is a Catholic and he got his rosaries out last night. He's only 18 and is autistic, I think his family have abandoned him. I was sitting there thinking, "if I was in Bondi right now I'd probably be having a wild time but, here I am listening to this boy talk about his rosary beads". Jesus Wept! He is the most boring person I've ever met. He is always telling the same corny jokes over and over again. He has a crush on me too. Whenever he speaks to me (which is often) I just switch off.

So we went to an Irish pub for a couple of pints and I came back to find I'd locked my keys in my room. I shat myself, John had gone to bed in his nice big house and he scared me. I didn't fancy ringing his doorbell at midnight. Fortunately, Randy was still up; he'd been working late. He is another Christian, but a gorgeous one. He's a tall, sandy haired Canadian who is staying at K*risk*indl for 6 weeks, working as a carpenter (why is that sexy?) to save enough money to carry on travelling. He has sexy eyes, I was gutted to find out he was a God botherer.

Anyway, I told him what I'd done, thinking that it was a hopeless situation. We went round the back, to the window of my room, which had bars on it. Luckily the window was unlocked and he managed to open it halfway. I'd also left the light on, so I could see my bag on the bed where my keys should be. Randy took a nearby broom and stuck the handle in and looped the straps over the end. As he carefully pulled the bag through to me, part of me hoped he'd drop it and I'd have to sleep in his room. He had a twin room to himself after all. God, it was like the key incident with Ingmar all over again. It was probably for the best that I got my keys, I was very relieved and grateful. Randy was my hero! Besides, I don't think John would have approved of me sharing a room with a man, it's probably forbidden; even in an emergency.

I'm gonna go over to Bondi this afternoon and check out a hostel that's quite cheap. Even if I only stay there a week and go back to K*risk*indl at least I'll have made some friends. I hope!

It's silly to come all the way to Sydney and have a boring time for the sake of money. It's not getting me anywhere. At least if I go out I might be able to suss out a good place to get a bar job. And if I don't then I'll just leave and try my luck in Melbourne. I can't really go to SE Asia until September though because it's the monsoon season now.

I got chatting to this old Yorkshireman called Joe in the hostel last night. He is 72. He told me this story about when he and his friends went on holiday to Spain to San Sebastien in the 70s. He said a tragic thing happened that he'd been thinking about. The weather was really bad the week they were there, raining all day long. So they decided to go to the cinema, as there was nothing else to do. About halfway through the film a fire broke out and everyone in the cinema panicked and ran towards the only exit available. Tragically, 120 people were crushed to death.

He said a lesson was learnt that day:

Don't put all your Basques in one exit.

Sorry, I thought it was funny....

Dinner was dull; the girls were boring and talked to each other about work and people at work. That was disappointing. I won�t be seeing them again.

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!