Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

3:49 p.m. - 2003-05-17
Jamaican Shower lands us in trouble..... PHOTOS TO SEE HERE!
2003-05-15

When we arrived at The Purple Cow Hostel, Ingmar and Johnny weren't around. I was disappointed, but we thought that they would come later. We went out for pizza, but they didn't turn up. The next day I got the number for Ingmar's hostel and rang him. He was still in bed and said that he would try and get over that afternoon, if not the next day. I wasn't that hopeful, I had figured out in the short time that I had known Ingmar that he was very lazy and liked to sleep a lot. This was probably due to expending so much energy when he was awake.

I went to the YHA to see if my scarf was still there - which it was, but I didn't see anyone I knew and left a note for Matt and Paddy to let them know I was back. When I returned I saw Ro heading out. He was going over to the Skate Park to see Ingmar who had just arrived. I went to greet him and he gave me a big hug. I noticed his pale blue hoody was really grubby.

He had come alone, and the three of us got drunk together that night playing Pyramid. Then we decided to have a Jamaican shower as our dorm had an ensuite. It was all going so well, it got really hot and steamy, we couldn�t see a thing in there and we would have got away with it if we hadn�t decided to document the event. Ro and I were taking photos of Ingmar emerging from the smoke with a spliff in his hand. We wanted to get the perfect image and spent far too long about it; sending Ingmar back into the bathroom several times. Only to reappear bringing more clouds of rich smoke into the dorm. Our fun was interrupted by the fire alarm. At first I thought it was just the smoke alarm in our room. I thought about muffling it, but I couldn�t reach and tried to waft the smoke away, but it was too late. The other two were running around in a panic, opening windows and clearing away the beer cans in the bathroom. Ro told us to get out straightaway. We were all half-undressed and I had to think quickly. What did I need? Warm clothes. I grabbed randomly at the pile of my clothes and followed the others down the corridor and out of the fire exit. The whole building was on a state of alert. We legged it down the road and I realised I wasn�t wearing my glasses. Ingmar had been wearing them and gave them back to me. Ro realised he�d lost his weed. I�d been skinning up with it, so I must have left it on the bed. We weren�t too worried giggled like children all the way to the pub. Ro couldn�t relax and wanted to find his weed. He said I should be the one to sneak back on a reconnaissance mission. I thought he should, as it was his weed. After arguing for ten minutes, he went back to the hostel. He came back with bad news. The weed was gone and there was this note on the door:

EVERYONE IN ROOM 10

Please come to reception first thing in the morning to discuss setting off the fire alarm. Thankyou

The next day Ro and I laid in bed until two o� clock (Ingmar was in another dorm). We spent all morning trying to think up a defence case, but after four hours realised we were busted. Then Ingmar came in to tell us that management knew it was us. Nikki on reception had seen Ingmar�s woolly hat, as he�d run off into the night. They had Ro�s weed, but she said we would get it back when we checked out. Ro had another bag anyway, so that was no problem. We went to see Nikki, I said �Hello, we�re from room 10�. She didn�t need telling. She was really cool about it and said she would tell the manager that we�d apologised. For the remains of the day we hired mountain bikes and rode round the lake. I thought it was going to be a gentle cycle, but it was a proper challenging bike trail. It didn�t help that I had a cold. Ingmar and Ro were racing ahead, while I was struggling with any hint of an incline.

I got quite scared when I realised I was on my own, and lost. I had fallen off my bike twice (Ro had captured my first fall, trying to cycle through sand, on his digital camera) and my back was sore. It was getting dark when I came to a fork in the track. I had to guess which one the boys would have taken. I chose the right fork, which took me away from the lake and towards a town. I was pushing my bike now; I was too exhausted to ride it. Then I panicked and thought about the possibility of having taken the wrong route and getting stuck out there. I had no headlights on my bike and no torch. My instincts told me to turn back and stick to the lake; I had to be quick, as the sun was setting fast. I found the boys down by the lakeshore a few minutes later. I was so relieved to see them and scrambled down the steep bank to join them in a smoke whilst watching the sunset. It wasn�t so easy getting up the bank, as it was coming down. I had to be dragged over the top; I was so weak. I was so sick of cycling by this point, but managed to make it to Albert Town where we had a beer and a burger. Ingmar was adamant he was cycling back to Wanaka, but I knew I physically couldn�t. Ro rang a taxi company for a quote from the pub�s phone. He came back with a quote of $180! We couldn�t believe it. I was gutted. I couldn�t see how I was going to get back, I didn�t fancy riding on the main road with no lights on my bike. Then Ro realised he�d ask for a quote to Queenstown instead of Wanaka! He rang back and got a more affordable quote for $15. We were picked up by minibus and dropped off outside The Purple Cow hostel, in full view of everybody. Nikki had been worried about us and was just about to send out a search party, because we were supposed to bring the bikes back before dark. To prevent us getting into even more trouble, she didn�t make a record of the hire and let us off even paying for them, So Ro and I saved $25 each. Which was handy, because when we saw the manager the next day we had to pay a fine of �50 between us. We were lucky the fire brigade wasn�t called, we would have been fined $300. Ro got his weed back and we toyed with the idea of having another �shower,� afterall, we knew where we had gone wrong before�

Seconds before the fire alarm was set off - no wonder!

Lake Wanaka

Swinging, Lake Wanaka

Sunset on Lake Wanaka

I grew really fond of the crazy Dutch bastard, but at the same time didn't think I could do anything about it because he was so young. I felt that he wouldn't fancy me because I was too old for him! It was quite a strange and intense situation. We flirted outrageously, but having Ro around restrained us to a point. The three of us sparked off each other so well, that a change in the dynamics of the threesome would have spoilt it. It was a perfect five days and I can honestly say I have never had so much fun or laughed so much in all my life

2003-05-17- 2:39 p.m.

After Wanaka, Ro and I hitched back to Queenstown and Ingmar cycled the 80kms over the Crown Range. I was worried for him; it�s such a dangerous road. It was pissing it down too, so I thought that maybe he wouldn't come. He turned up at The Flaming Kiwi hostel only 3 hours after Ro and I. I had to stay at the hostel I stayed at previously because Claire had paid for a night on her credit card. I partied at The Flaming Kiwi though and got really nicely drunk on white wine. The staff had gone out for the night as well, so it was a proper party. Everyone staying there was so fun and it's a small hostel so it feels more like shared house. It also has a free pool table, but it's a piece of crap. Ingmar had been sleeping all evening until me and Ro jumped on him and stole his sleeping bag. We made him get up and we went to a club called Surreal (where I'd met Ro the Friday before) We had flaming Sambucas, but I spat mine out because I got scared. Then when we left to go to Subculture, I realised I'd had my coat stolen. Ingmar said he'd had his stolen the week before. It had my dorm key in it, but I was secretly pleased because it meant I would have to stay at The Flaming Kiwi. I was drunk and kept going on about this red autumn leaf that Ingmar had given me earlier that had been in my coat pocket. I think I was more upset about losing that than the coat, being the romantic that I am. Ro eventually went home because he couldn't pull. Ingmar and I headed home at about 3am and came across a busker. Ingmar had to have a go on his guitar and earned himself $2. We got back to his dorm room (with 10 beds in it, most of them empty). But there were no spare covers, as Ingmar couldn't find his sleeping bag, which Ro had hidden. So we got a duvet out of the cupboard and shared his bed. We did have sex; it is so embarrassing in a dorm room with other people. But I really fancied Ingmar at this point, plus we were drunk.

Photos of the night:

The next day I had to go to The Sally Army shop to buy a replacement coat, it is really cold in the South of the South island this time of year. The most tasteful coat I could find was a huge bright pink anorak. It was only $10 and looked new, so I bought it. With my new pink jacket, pink converse and pigtails I looked extraordinarily young, Irish Johnny actually thought I was 19!

After the night spent with Ingmar, things changed between us, regrettably. There was awkwardness between us, but most nights we did stay up together until 6am in the TV room, which was something. I didn't see much of Queenstown, as I didn't get up until 2pm everyday. I felt really ill too, I had a cold and had put my back out from coughing and laughing so much in Wanaka. Ingmar was very good at disappearing and he drove me mad, I�d really fallen for him and wanted to spend time with him, but he was like a restless puppy full of too much energy. At one point I felt lovesick, but I was just being a fool. He moved onto a Swedish girl after me. She was a really good guitar player and very sweet. Oh well, so I shouldn't be surprised, that�s what it�s all about getting as many shags in with as many people as possible.

Ro and I kept putting off leaving; I'd secured us a lift with Jack from London who was going up the West Coast. Ro didn't want to leave; he just wanted to continue partying in Queenstown, so we convinced Jack to stay for another party. Eventually we left on the Friday. It was another sad goodbye. I had made a lot of friends and it felt like leaving home all over again. I hadn�t seen Ingmar and I hoped and suspected that he was still in bed. He was supposed to be cycling to Glenorchy that day to camp in the "beautiful naturrrre". I don't know how anyone can cycle up all those hills, let alone a Dutchman. Ro and I went into his dorm to say goodbye to the Irish and Ingmar. I gave him a hug and he asked for a kiss and I felt teary, it was frustrating that I couldn't say goodbye properly. It's for the best; no use getting serious. Afterall, all good things come to an end. I got his email address and I hope to see him again, although it's not very likely. It just doesn't work out like that. People, when they're travelling, are usually different to how they are in real life. More open and carefree. That's why so many people appear attractive, when normally you wouldn't even notice them.

So Ro and I escaped Queenstown. The Flaming Kiwi was such a great hostel. The best place I've stayed on my trip. I sometimes imagine what sort of people are staying there now and if they're having as much fun as we did in that week. It was a really special time of complete hedonism and of course a little bit of romance and heartache for me.

We all had weed which we'd bought from Richard the muso there. The weather was stunning. The brightest day I had ever seen. The sun was a huge white light and really low in the sky, which made everything seem so sharp and surreal. The West Coast is remarkable. Lots of rainforests and mountains. I was quite overwhelmed. It was even better for Jack�s music on his quality sound system in the car. Plus I was caned. I love New Zealand, it's so beautiful when it's sunny. Everything was so clear and the autumn colours really softened the blow of leaving Ingmar. I actually felt quite enlightened by it all; I understood what people mean when they see 'God' in nature. I think it shows itself in absolute pure, unspoilt beauty. We stopped by a lake just outside Queenstown and I thought to myself "If I lived here I would never be depressed again. It's not possible" and put the memory of Ingmar to the back of my mind. Nature is so good for the mind and soul. �Twas good 'erb!

I was quite relieved to get out of Queenstown and the routine of staying up all night. It was very unhealthy. Everyone there has a cold because they abuse themselves so much with alcohol and late nights, that their immune system is fucked.

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!