Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

5:21 p.m. - 2003-04-14
Buying a car in Auckland with two teenagers (mistake?)
2003-04-13 - 5:21 p.m.

I left Rarotonga this morning. Martin and Fynn were on the same flight to Auckland, but were going to Oz. It was Sunday when I left this morning, but crossed the International Date Line and arrived in Auckland Monday lunchtime. I got a bus to Fat Camel Hostel, but didn't like it there at all. It was well equipped but a really depressing building with barely any windows. My room was tiny but had 6 bunkbeds in it. Really horrible. It didn't help that there were two girls still in bed when I arrived, so it was dark and smelly. I went straight out to do some shopping and came back three hours later to find the girls still stinking in bed.

I had a Kiwi Experience voucher on me which I had bought in London, and I wasn't sure whether to join it or not. I'd heard bad things about it and it did sound like it would be my worst nightmare come true. It's a tour of New Zealand, which takes you to all the prime spots and is full of kids getting drunk and getting off with each other. I decided to get a refund. I knew Rob and Claire from Rarotonga were due the next day and they mentioned us buying a car together.

2003-04-16 - 10:17 a.m.

Buying a car today with Rob and Claire. I can't wait to get out of Auckland - it is so boring. The only exciting thing I did yesterday was buy some walking shoes. I had my feet measured and I had to stand on this pad so my centre of gravity and pressure points could be measured. Great service. So now I have a really comfy pair of shoes.

Anyway, this car we got is cool, well it's cool that we have a car at least. It's a burgundy Mazda Cappella with central locking, electric windows, stereo with MD adapter and some camping gear thrown in. All for $1050. We haggled them down from $1200. So that is about �120 each. Claire is the only one that can drive though!

I'm getting a refund on my Kiwi experience ticket. I want a bit more adventure!

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!