Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:12 a.m. - Monday, Apr. 20, 2020
Painting breakthrough and hummous tips
God I hate Michael Gove. Such a weasel. The Sunday Times printed a detailed and damning article about all of the UK governments failings on dealing with the Coronavirus to date. Boris Johnson didn't attend the first 5 Cobra meetings for God's sake. Gove's response to the article was to say it was grotesque and that it's not usual for the PM to attend Cobra meetings. Which is blatantly bollocks because the number of times I've heard it stated on the news that "the PM has called an emergency Cobra meeting" is more than once. Or does that mean they call the meeting but don't attend? I doubt it. Boris Johnson really is a hands off PM. Absolutely no surprise there. It's enough to make one despair, I've decided to just shrug it all off for now and focus on my own world of painting, language learning and guitar. Seeing some chinks of inspiration coming through in the painting. Got two small paintings that I started today. One might be finished. The other looks nice as it is too but I need to keep at it. Getting ideas from the big weird abstract piece with the eye motifs. It looks a mess but sections of it work and I'm going to recreate them on small canvases. Good to get a method and rhythm going in the studio finally.

On day 18 of the Yoga with Adrienne too. Haven't missed a day yet. I'm sure it's helping me to keep grounded and focused. Cannot see how I'll ever get my heels to the ground in downward facing dog though. It makes me angry to see how flexible some yogi's are. Haha. Maybe after 4 years of practice I'll get there.

Tonight I made a nice stir fry with aubergine coated in cornflour. It's great. Very crunchy on the outside and soft on the inside. Chinese style but I mixed some coconet milk in. So yummy, like restaurant style! Also made 'better than store bought' hummous yesterday. The first time I had achieved that. Usually it comes out of the blender like cement. The trick is to shell the chickpeas first. Slightly time consuming but therapeutic. I didn't even know they had shells actually! It makes for a creamier, smoother version. You can soak them in bicarbonate of soda too and that helps the skins disintegrate, and cook them longer until they are mushy. Also soak the raw garlic in the lemon juice for a few minutes coz it takes the edge off the raw taste. Tomorrow I might make orange and chocolate marble cake. No wonder I'm getting podgy.

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!