Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:09 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 09, 2020
Virtual friends
I've had two cans of some lovely citrus pale ale and a little vaping of weed and feel good. Trying not to drink too much but today I just said 'fuck it."
I watched the pilot episode of Twin Peaks to take part in the Watch party on Twitter. That was such a great pilot. I remember watching it when I was 12 with my Dad and feeling something new, like innocence bring snatched away but already feeling quite adult whilst watching it. Like suddenly you're a teenager, towards becoming a sexual young woman and life would never be the same again and it felt terrifying but exciting. knowing that I was now stepping into the adult world.

I sometimes wonder what life would have been like if Twin Peaks had never been made. It had such a huge collective cultural impact. Me and my friends were obsessed with it at the perfect age of 12/13. It's probably a much bigger influence on me than I realised.

I have noticed that I'm replacing my real life friends with virtual friends on YouTube. More or less everyday I check in with my friend Adrienne to do yoga (incidentally, I swear I look 4 years younger after 5 days of doing it), then I hang out with Marty the guitar teacher and just before bed I check in with the good doctor, whose name I can't remember, for the daily Corona update. Occasionally I check in on Limmy to see how he's doing coz he's losing it - if he hasn't already, but he's a good laugh.

I wonder if we'll get so used to connecting with other people online that it will be harder to connect in the real world. It was already getting like that.
I'm imagining that instead of wild parties on the streets, once lockdown is lifted, that we'll all just be tentatively occupying the same space nervously.

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!