Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

6:42 a.m. - Friday, Nov. 16, 2018
Brexit is shit!
I hate Brexit. I can’t believe I even briefly entertained the idea of voting to leave, when I was already living and working in Spain. It’s showing it’s negative effects now, very clearly. Government is in chaos with multiple resignations yesterday (and more likely today) after Theresa May presented the 585 page withdrawal agreement to the cabinet and parliament. I am just so depressed at the pig headed idiotic country the UK has revealed itself to be. I am sick to death of hearing jingoistic gammon saying “just get on with it!” Just shows how ignorant these people are about the complexity of all of this. The withdrawal agreement states that I would be able to gain permanant status here after 5 years of continuous residence, so I have only two years to add. I won’t in theory be able to move to another EU country but I don’t see how I can be prevented from travelling to say France or Portugal from Spain, as there are no border checks within the Shengen area.
This withdrawal agreement pleases no one. It’s Brexit in name only, we stay in the customs union and we lose our freedom of movement. It’s a completely pointless exercise. So Leavers and Remainers are united in our unhappiness about the deal.
The country is FUCKED. It’s tragic. This shambles is going to run and run for years whilst our public services fall apart. It’s completely consuming politics. Theresa May has done absolutely nothing else since she took office. It’s like a bad dream.
I’m lucky that I have a chance of another life in Spain, I can’t imagine hiw depressed I would feel if I was living in the UK with the likelihood of losing my freedom of movement and no option to escape.

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!