Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:38 p.m. - Tuesday, Feb. 27, 2018
Barry’s squat
Barry’s place is like a squat. It needs so much work doing to it and it is filthy. I think I have been shaming him a bit. I don’t mean to embarrass him but I can’t help but be honest and I can’t understand why he put everything under the long finger for so long. We are very different in that way. Maybe it’s a gender thing. I’m a problem solver and obsessed with having the maximum level of comfort, convenience and efficiency I can afford. If I had a window in my bathroom stuck open which made the room so cold I didn’t want to get up and shower in the morning I would put something over it to block out the wind. It would take not even ten minutes and make my life so much more bearable. So that’s what I did this morning before work, I had a bit of time to spare, ten minutes to be exact, as I didn’t have to start until 10am. I stuck some plastic sheeting on top of the window with gaffa tape. Unfortunately it didn’t stick very well because the sill was so dirty and Barry took the piss out of my bodge job when he got home. We seem to be falling into that kind of relationship, constantly ribbing each other. The other main thing that needs to be fixed is the fucking fire door on the kitchen. His aunt was a slum landlord of that house before he half bought it off her and had it fitted as a precaution which is a bit over the top, I can barely get out of the room, it’s so heavy, and I’m not a small weak woman. We have to unscrew the mechanism on the back of it which will make life flow much better and easier. It’s bloody ridiculous. She also had timers installed on the landing lights so you can’t hang about as you go from room to room otherwise you are plunged into darkness. No loitering in the hallway!

Apart from that it’s grand and I am very very lucky. My room is huge and at the top of the house. There is a room nextdoor which is also unused which has a sink in it, the sort you would find in an art studio. I can’t help but daydream about the possibility of renting both rooms off him for a good deal. It would also make a fantastic bathroom too. Be like having my own living quarters.

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!