Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:39 p.m. - Monday, Nov. 07, 2016
I'm back
Not sure why I haven't updated for a month. I must have been happier or something. Truth is I was getting lazy and out of the habit. It's like exercise, you have to write regularly to keep the momentum going. Otherwise once you stop it's harder and harder to start again with each passing day. My last entry says I was planning to confront my supervisor about the way she spoke to me. I am pleased to say I did and she looked shocked. I don't think she has any idea that she is so rude to everyone. I asked about my promotion which she promised me back in January and she said I will never get it because of the budget. She is such a bitch. So I will leave this job a junior after possibly 2 years if I stay till the end. Which really pisses me off because I am not a junior. It's pretty much a mistake that I am in this position. At least I know where I stand. That whole week was crazy. As soon as I left that meeting l emailed a potential employer who had contacted me the previous week. I said I could come and meet him the coming Friday.
It was a really good interview, really nice supervisor and a good creative company. Sounded like my dream job and he seemed keen. He said that there would possibly be a years work starting in December, which would be ideal as I had also 'proposed' to a Spanish friend of mine on the Wednesday (via whatsapp and she said yes) because I decided I want Spanish citizenship - coz Brexit. You only need to be married a year before you can apply, but you need to be working as well. So I thought everything was finally falling into place, I was going to land this great new job and be able to afford my own apartment, get 'married' and secure my EU status allowing me to live and work in my industry all over Europe and not be forced to live under Tory rule. Of course the job was too good to be true. After submitting my salary exectations (possibly too high) I was told that there wasn't any work right now but to have no doubt that he would contact me in the future if there was. Bit strange seeing that he mentioned December, I didn't ask him about that due to feeling so dissapointed. I was so sure it was in the bag. I can be a bit over confident about interviews... He didn't speak very good English and I was laughing a lot. Not very professional of me.

So that was then and I was looking to move partly because of the promise of a new job on the other side of Madrid and partly because I was having one of my very negative phases with the house. Then I viewed a room in a flatshare after getting real about how expensive it is to live alone and realised I have it good here. I love my room and actually I can live with the chicos quite well now I have them sussed. They are funny too. Bit mad which is annoying but never boring. So I was happily getting on with living here preparing for the onset of winter when my new catholic friend Whatsapped me last week to let me know her flatmate is moving out and I could move in. I saw it yesterday, it's really nice. It's in a gorgeous old building circa 1885 with a clock tower, wrought iron balconies and decorative tiles. But inside it's very solid and modern and warm. It also has AC! It is fairly big but with a small kitchen but it has a large living/dining room. Most importantly it has loads of in built storage. It could be very homey. So I am tempted. It's also cheap and right near the metro not far from the palace. Problem is I feel like this house fits me now and I would miss it and I really don't know how I will cope without the cat. I adore that animal. But I do need a change and I can't stay here forever so I may as well go when I have a great opportunity to. It is so hard to find anywhere half decent in the city and this place is really great, plus it has a spare room for guests. I have to live in Madrid city before I return to London, otherwise I will feel like I really missed out. I just dread telling the chicos here that I am moving. Pedro will be especially upset to see me go. I feel bad because I know I am the perfect housemate and they will find it very hard to replace me. That's what Pedro told me when l thought l was going to move for this job at least.

It's the US election tomorrow. Da da daaaah! How fortuitous is it that Spain happens to have yet another public holiday on Wednesday?! So l can stay up all night like Brexit and spend the next day in stunned silence and shock. Although l am gonna say it now, l think Clinton will win. There cannot be that many dumb Americans. Not that I like Hillary, but we all know it's Hobson's choice with this one. God help us.

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!