Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

3:50 p.m. - Wednesday, Aug. 31, 2016
Seville
I 'm waiting for my friend at Faro Airport, her flight is delayed so I may as well write. Spent the night in Seville last night after walking about 15kms around the city in the crazy heat. I really liked it. All narrow cobbled streets but no hills. Beautiful architecture and gardens. It wasn't too busy with tourists either. I met a Turkish guy who approached me whilst I was making myself cheese sandwiches on a bench (said leftover cheese melted in my bag and later leaked cheese grease which ended up on my shorts) . He was asking for directions and we ended up spending the day together. This allowed me to really experience the nightlife and drink and eat the tapas without feeling self conscious. We ended up at a predominantly locals bar for the free flamenco and then wandered slowly back to our respective hotels. I think this guy had fallen in love with me over the course of 9 hours. He said "you're really nice, I don't want the night to end" He has been living in Stuttgart, Germany for 9 months working as an engineer and not having much luck on Tinder. He wants a wife but finds it hard to meet people. Basically he said he experiences a bit of racism there. I had to tell him I had a boyfriend and described 'the boy' as that. I really wasn't interested in anything happening and as soon as I mentioned I wasn't single he was visibly irked. Well, I think the third question he asked me was "are you married?" jesus. He was OK though. Good enough company for an evening. I felt like I was on the backpacker trail again.
Seville is a wonderful city. Raw and Romantic. At one point on the way home we were walking down an empty cobbled street (it was 1am) and we heard the sound of a guitar and song coming from somewhere 'offstage.' we stopped walking to listen and then a gitano appeared from round the corner behind us just playing. So magical. Then we saw an old man had fallen over outside his hotel and his wife and friend trying to pick him up. We went over to help and he was crying. Maybe he was drunk. I left them alone because it seemed like they were in the middle of a personal drama, but the gitano went over and stood in front of them singing one of his heartfelt songs of woe. It was quite surreal.
I love travelling, getting the bug again. All these places have a unique atmosphere and flavour that you can't describe but only feel. Seville is a strong city but very laid back and joyous without having sold out to the tacky brand of tourism. Really falling for Spain... and I was speaking Spanish. I am lucky.

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!