Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:00 a.m. - Wednesday, Aug. 24, 2016
The 6 stages of Garageband
I starting using Garageband on Friday and I am addicted. Maybe I should have been a musician all along. I don't profess to be making brilliant music right now but I certainly know enough theory to understand what works and what doesn't and I have good taste which is the main thing. So many cheesy 'My first Garageband song's.' On Youtube if you wanna laugh. Horrible rawk guitar + effects and barely any drums or bass. It does make me wonder if what I am making is also terrible and cliched. it's hard to tell because once you get to know the pre programmed sounds on your ipad it's hard to forget how simple it is to craft a track with all these readymade sounds. It sort of takes away the magic. It's the aural equivalent to compositing, as in, I can't enjoy special effects heavy films as much because I am looking at the comping, either admiring or dissing. Actually, maybe I enjoy VFX films more because of the mild interest in the craft.
I'm really excited about the possibilities of making my own music. I only wished I'd tried it earlier. It's so easy to use. I didn't Watch any tutorials, it's straight away highly intuitive. All you have to do is open the drums, tap out an awesome beat and then you are hooked and looking through all the synth options etc. 15 minutes later and you have made your first (probably) terrible song but you will think it's amazing purely because it was so fun and unexpected and seemingly easy to do. Then you craft a new track which will possibly be a complete change of direction and it will be better. Then you listen to the first song and in comparison to the second it's frankly shit. Ashamed you carry on determined to discover some secret of how to make a non shit 'first' Garageband song. 3 days (with little sleep) and 10 songs later you feel like you might have something you could share with the Youtube community but wait, sit on it. For at least 6 months. If it now sounds shit then don't embarrass yourself.

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!