Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:21 p.m. - Friday, Jun. 10, 2016
Bloody Brexit
Had the first part of my Spanish exam today. It started off too easy which lulled me into a false sense of security and then it got progressively harder. I found out afterwards that I had misunderstood the final task and written about something other than what was asked. I know I am not the only one so I hope they still grade my answer. Even if I fail it doesn't matter, doesn't mean I'm bad at Spanish, just bad at exams. I know I have improved since before the course. I haven't taken an exam since 1994. The same year that one of my classmates was born. That's crazy.

I have to cancel my Netflix. They are another tax avoider apparently. I'm gonna have to boycott almost everything now though. I am just getting sick of it all. Politics is a joke and there is no democracy. The only true power we have is as consumers but we don't use that power because it's not convenient or comfortable. So we just keep swallowing the sugar coated pills and accept this shitty lot. Life could be so much better but no one has the imagination to realise it. It's very strange time we are living through but pretty predictable. I am thinking of the US Presidential race and the EU referendum. The polls say Brexit is looking likely but I doubt it. It's like the Scottish Referendum - those who want out shout the loudest. Of course it will be rigged for us to stay in anyway. It's too big a deal to leave to the public to decide. How on earth can we make an informed decision if we don't know what we are voting for? There is barely any intelligent debate on the subject and the working class who want out are patronised and labelled as xenophobic. Putting people into boxes like that is not going to help the Remain side. Some Brexiters may well be racist bigots but it would help if we addressed why they are and to what extent. Shouting people down in simplistic terms only makes them more frustrated that they are not represented. Therefore more angry. People aren't born full of hate and fear, so what factors influence them? Newspapers mainly. Together with high unemployment, a general sense of hopelessness. That's not the immigrants fault but Thatcher's.

I do like being part of Europe and I do feel European. It's all I've known. So I will vote to stay in, even though I don't want to be part of a crumbling Empire, maybe these days with the world getting smaller we have to be. I can see that there are reasons to leave as well as stay. It seems some people are a bit naive about the EU and think it's just wonderful and don't even bother seeing it from another viewpoint. It's those people who make me want to vote out! The fact is, at this stage we don't have enough facts and it's getting a bit close now. The campaigns can only get more hysterical and propoganda filled and I will get so fed up I might not even vote. It's just too big for me to think about. We shouldn't be having this referendum, it's so divisive and stupid. I am glad I am here in Spain, it feels less important to me, kind of surreal. If we do vote out at least I will feel like I made the right decision to move here and it will give me the motivation to get better at the language so I am allowed to stay. Who knows, if we leave and the UK goes up the swanny I think I would prefer to stay here. Things are pretty screwy here too but I don't feel any tension. I'd rather be in a poor fucked up country that has good weather. It's very sad what's happening there.

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!