Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2:32 p.m. - Tuesday, May. 31, 2016
bloody computers
Jesus Christ I just had a scare. I was in an unusually good mood for no particular reason and started up my iMac only to be presented with a fucked up screen, just the apple logo all pixelated and looking like something had blown. It's just the worst feeling. Funny thing was literally 5 minutes earlier I had been downstairs talking to my housemate about his laptop which was broken and I said "well I have had mine a long time and got it fixed fairly recently and it's still going - touch wood." and I touched the bookcase.

It was all down to the power cut we had last night. It sounded like something had blown and my iMac was on. They don't like being switched off suddenly like that and it sounded like a power surge before the lights went out. This fucking house. The electrics are screwed.

It looked like it was something major but I thought I would try and see if anyone else had had this problem. Amazingly the first thing I tried on some forum fixed it! I am so happy! Backing up now... I really don't think I could have coped with losing my Mac right now. I am hardly feeling that resilient and the thought of trying to find someone in Madrid to fix it cheap doesn't appeal. Plus I have no money. Ugh, computers, they can really fuck you up! So if anyone ever has a similar problem, hold down Control + Command + P + R and do a disk check and then restart and it should be OK. I feel like I just blew a fuse in my head though from the stress of that. I am going to go for a walk.

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!