Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:43 a.m. - Friday, May. 06, 2016
Thinking about writing again
Everyone should write a book, something. Leave something behind of their experience on this earth. I wonder about the poets I have met and if anyone in 100 years time will be reading their work. I barely read famous poets work, let alone anyone else's. So I thought about my experiences and if anyone would be interested in them, what seems mundane to me could be fascinating to someone else. Where to write these down? Well, if no one is going to read it anyway I may as well hide it in Diaryland. It feels like a part of the web that is stuck in 2004 and forgotten about by everyone except perhaps the sort of people I wouldn't mind reading my thoughts. My words don't even come up in Google search (I believe). Diaryland is for the nobodies but it feels secure and safe from the rapidly changing face of the internet. If I write my life story up here will it in the world forever? Well I doubt that, I mean what happens when the guy who runs this thing gets fed up with the maintenance and keeping it alive like a tamagochi? Or when he dies? Then what happens? it's quite a responsibility. The story of people's lives on your website. I guess for me the thing with Diaryland is, it feels to me like, Ok - I could write my 'memoirs' and save them on my hard drive at the risk of nobody else ever reading them, seeing as it doesn't look like I will ever have kids... or a spouse... but I don't really want anyone I know to read them anyway, not until after I am gone. So Diaryland is the next best place, it's like putting them on a hard drive in which lots of strangers have access to but they never look because they forgot their password, or simply forgot the place existed, until one day - 40 years later they have a flashback and like me (10 years later) investigate its immortality then spend a few hours reading about these abstract people and their distant lives. It's mysterious and magical and a little bit spooky.

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!