Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

4:59 p.m. - 2004-12-09
Is there a central scarf control group?
Morning every one,

Please do not think of this question as frivolous.

Recently I noticed my wife was wearing her scarf differently.

I have since noticed that many women are wearing their scarves in a similar manner.


Has a message gone out authorising/commanding this?
Does it apply to men wearing scarves.

Just curious
ED
_____________________________

Hi Ed!

You are quite right, there is a strange new style with scarves, that actually began last winter, I believe, and spread like wildfire. The world of fashion is a weird and wonderful thing!

Best wishes,
Lois (Who wears her scarf in the old style).
_____________________________

Well according to my daughter, I have to wear my scarf like this,

you fold the scarf in half,
put it round your neck,
then get the ends and put it through the loop and pull.

Mmmmm does this make sense??? So hard to describe.

Hope this helps,

Much love
_____________________________

It is a very efficient way of wearing your scarf and keeps the cold out much better. I believe we got that method from our continental Europe neighbours. I started doing mine that way after I lived in Spain.

Siobhan
_____________________________
from a scarf forum... somewhere on t'internet.


It may appear to be a trivial matter, but the devil is in the detail as they say, and this could be the tip of the iceberg. It represents the need to belong, the desire to be 'in fashion,' fear of being different. Maybe all the loopy scarf wearers are brainwashed. Or belong to a secret club like the masons. A secret fashion club, instead of rolling one trouser leg up they loop their scarves.

My latest gripe is obviously this scarf looping nonsense. I'm not into it at all. I would be horrified if one of MY friends wore their scarf in such a ridiculous fashion. Thankfully this has only happened once I soon set him straight. You might as well have a sign over your head that says "Slave to Faaashion." Where on earth did it spring from? Who was the first to loop the loop? Why does everyone think it looks good? In my mind it looks so fucking pretentious middle class Notting Hill fucking Next catalogue.

It could be a blessing in disguise - it sorts the men from the boys, the individual thinkers from the sheep. It's them and us. I'm not one of 'them.' This is war! No, the only way to wear your scarf with integrity is the way we've always worn them, wrapped around. Don't let Trinny and Susannah dress you like a pansy.

Unfortunately I don't think this is a passing fad. It's rare to see the correct style of scarf wear as opposed to this new style. In fact if I see a person with the 'wraparound' I have instant respect for them for keeping it real. No, I'm doomed to be irritated every winter for years to come - another reason for me to emigrate to warmer climes.

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!