Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11.44 a.m. - 2004-06-28
Weird weekend
Had a very weird weekend. After attending my sister's leaving do from our work (which I too am leaving, hoo-bloody-ray). I got on the number 89 bus, which I've never seen before. Sis insisted it went to Deptford so I jumped on; desperate to get out of the West end. I went upstairs and chose 'the wrong seat.' I knew as soon as I sat down that I was in for a tiresome journey. The guy in front of me had turned around and given me a big smile. I stared out of the window and ignored him. Then he started trying to communicate with me via sign language. Great, I had the classic 'being chatted up by a deaf, but drunk man on the bus' scenario. It's a tricky one because you don't want to offend and you should really give someone who finds it hard to communicate a chance to express their thoughts. However I didn't want to patronize him by letting him hassle me just because he was deaf. Why should I treat him any differently to a drunkard that can hear me telling him to fuck off? I attempted to sign back and realised that the only word I know in signing is 'homosexual.' It was recently updated, from the 'Ooh Duckie' limp wrist flick, to a sort of joystick action using the fist and the thumb.

Anyway, after communicating to me that he could drive, he had money (um, why was he taking the bus?) and that he could make me very happy, he moved from the seat in front of me to the seat next to me and had become a bit too friendly. I didn't know where to get off the bus, as it was dark and going via Deptford Bridge, the part of Deptford I don't know. Deaf bloke was supposed to be getting off at New Cross but didn't and I was worried he would follow me when I alighted. Luckily a nice young man behind us leant over and asked me '"Is this man bothering you?"

I said I could handle it, but after a while I thought I should do the sensible thing and make sure I was safe when I got off the bus. The Nice Young Man was getting off at Lewisham, so I took my chance and followed him, shaking deaf bloke's hand goodbye. NYM walked me to the relevant bus stop to get back to Deptford. Deaf man stayed on the bus. Nice Young Man even waited with me until my bus came. He'd just been to see The Red Hot Chilli Peppers in Hyde Park. I can't remember his name.

On Saturday I met up with my friend Ro; whom I met in New Zealand. I met him in Brixton at 3pm and we drank until 11pm. For someone who I regard as a friend and nothing more (I don't fancy him at all), I was surprised to end up spending the night with him. We were quite drunk and pleased to see each other again and I made the mistake of telling him that I'd had an erotic dream about him a few days earlier. Which had disturbed me a bit. I think it was just a case of the two of us being single and just craving a cuddle. I still don't fancy him but as he says to me: 'It could be worse, at least you're not a midget.'

He is attractive but there is zero chemistry there, I fancy almost all of my other friends more than him, including my girlfriends!.

It's funny, he even introduced me to his friends as the bird he chatted up in NZ but didn't fancy. I Shouldn't speak too soon, we'll probably be married with kids in five years time.

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!